Shadow Dorset Council

Date:	
Time:	
Venue:	
Membership:	

Thursday, 14 March 2019 6.30 pm Committee Suite - South Walks House

The Council membership is listed on the following page.

Chief Executive (Designate) for the Dorset Council: Matt Prosser

For more information about this agenda please telephone Democratic Services on 01305 252216 or email sdallison@dorset.gov.uk

Publication Date: 6 March 2019

This agenda and reports are also available on the Council's website.

Members of the public are welcome to attend this meeting with the exception of any items listed in the exempt part of this agenda.

Disabled access is available for all of the council's committee rooms. Hearing loop facilities are available. Please speak to a Democratic Services Officer for assistance in using this facility.

Recording, photographing and using social media at meetings

The council is committed to being open and transparent in the way it carries out its business whenever possible. Anyone can film, audio-record, take photographs, and use social media such as tweeting and blogging to report the meeting when it is open to the public, so long as they conform to the Council's protocol, a copy of which can be obtained from the Democratic Services Team.

MEMBERSHIP OF THE SHADOW DORSET COUNCIL

Anthony Alford Jon Andrews Malcolm Barnes Peter Barrowcliff *Shane Bartlett Thomas Bartlett *Pauline Batstone Bill Batty-Smith Colin Beck *Derek Beer **Richard Biggs** Andy Blackwood *Kevin Brookes *Cherry Brooks **Piers Brown** Graham Brown Sandra Brown Hazel Bruce Ian Bruce *Ray Bryan David Budd Nigel Bundy Audrey Burch Sarah Burns Derek Burt Derek Bussell *Steve Butler Mike Byatt *Andrew Canning Jeff Cant *Graham Carr-Jones *Andrew Cattaway Alexander Chase Simon Christopher Alex Clarke Ronald Coatsworth Robin Cook Patrick Cooke *Toni Coombs Barrie Cooper Hilary Cox *Deborah Cronev *Keith Day *Janet Dover Charles Dowden

Nigel Dragon Francis Drake Fred Drane Gerald Duke *Jean Dunseith Mike Dver **Dominic Elliott** John Ellis *Beryl Ezzard Terry Farmer James Farguharson *Tony Ferrari Caroline Finch *Spencer Flower Victor Fox Jo Francis Robert Freeman *Katharine Garcia Ian Gardner Simon Gibson Hilary Goodinge Barry Goringe Mike Gould Robert Gould Matthew Hall Lucy Hamilton Traci Handford Tim Harries **David Harris** Paul Harrison **Brian Haynes** *Jill Haynes Ryan Hope Fred Horsington Susie Hosford Colin Huckle Nick Ireland Christine James Susan Jefferies Gary Jefferson Sherry Jespersen K D Johnson Stella Jones **Trevor Jones**

Oz Kanji

Andrew Kerby Paul Kimber Rebecca Knox **Richard Kosior** Noc Lacey-Clarke Catherine Langham Margaret Lawrence Robin Legg Margaret Leicester Gina Logan Mike Lovell Cathy Lugg Barbara Manuel Gloria Marsh Penny McCartney Frances McKenzie Wendy Meaden Laura Miller David Morgan Tim Morris **Richard Nickinson** Pamela Nixon Ray Nowak Peter Oggelsby *Jon Orrell Jason Osborne David Packer Cathy Page-Nash Emma Parker *Michael Parkes *Andrew Parry *Mary Penfold *Bill Pipe Claire Pipe Val Pothecary **Robin Potter** Simon Pritchard Byron Quayle Barry Quinn Alison Reed Molly Rennie Cheryl Reynolds Dave Rickard Belinda Ridout Michael Roake *Mark Roberts

Julie Robinson Gareth Rockingham Tia Roos George Russell John Russell Jacqui Sewell Peter Shorland *David Shortell Andy Skeats Deirdre Skipwith Jane Somper Jackie Stavt John Stayt Gary Suttle Clare Sutton John Tanner David Tavlor Gill Tavlor Mark Tewkesbury Alan Thacker Carol Tilling Simon Tong *William Trite *Darvl Turner Mark Unsworth *David Walsh Ann Weaving Peter Webb Sandy West Jane Westbrook *Peter Wharf *Kate Wheller Mike Whitwam Mike Wiggins Peter Williams **Timothy Yarker**

(2 vacancies)

*Indicates councillors on borough/district councils as well as Dorset County Council

AGENDA

Page No.

1 APOLOGIES

To receive any apologies for absence.

2 CODE OF CONDUCT

To receive any declarations of interest.

3 MINUTES

5 - 16

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 20th February 2019.

4 PUBLIC PARTICIPATION (30 MINUTES)

Members of the public may submit a written question to the Leader, Portfolio Holder, or Chairman of the Shadow Council or committee. Questions must have been submitted to the Interim Monitoring Officer by 10.00 am on 11th March. Written statements must be submitted to the Interim Monitoring Officer by midday on 13th March.

5 QUESTIONS FROM SHADOW COUNCILLORS (30 MINUTES)

A Shadow Councillor may ask the Chairman, Leader, Portfolio Holder or the Chairman of a committee any question about a matter which the Shadow Council, the Shadow Executive or committee has powers, duties or responsibilities. Questions must have been submitted to the Interim Monitoring Officer by 10.00am on Monday 11th March 2019.

6 MINUTES OF THE SHADOW EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

To receive the minutes of the Shadow Executive Committee held on 11th March 2019 (to follow).

7 MINUTES OF THE SHADOW OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

To receive the minutes of the Shadow Overview and Scrutiny Committee held on 7th March (to follow).

8 NOTICE OF MOTION

To consider the following Notice of Motion submitted by Cllr S Bartlett:-

That there has been a failure of the Shadow Executive Committee to fulfil a promise to involve members from minority groups on Task & Finish Groups, which were originally set up to formulate policies and procedures for the new Dorset Council.

That the Shadow Council agrees that it has not, as promised, involved or engaged adequately with Town and Parish Councils regarding their future contribution to Dorset Council or any potential impact of establishing the new council on the services they provide.

That the Shadow Council acknowledges the importance of ensuring a clear statement of intent is placed on record such that in future within the Dorset Council there be cross party involvement immediately in the development of policies and procedures, as set out within the approved structure of the Dorset Council Constitution. And that further, Town and Parish Councils will be robustly engaged, on an ongoing basis, in respect of future service provision by the Dorset Council, which may have an impact on their councils.

The motion has been supported by:-

Cllrs J A Andrews, N J Ireland, S Jefferies, M E Rennie, S Hosford, R Potter, T Harries, E S Jones, M Hall, G Taylor, A Canning, K Wheller, D Budd, T Jones, P R Kimber, R Nowak, L Hamilton, B Ezzard, S Bartlett, R Biggs, D Rickard, T Roos, C Huckle, C Sutton and J Orrell

9 URGENT ITEMS

To consider any items of business which the Chairman has had prior notification and considers to be urgent pursuant to section 100B (4) (b) of the Local Government Act 19702. The reason for the urgency shall be specified minutes.